Skip to main content

•■■y FOURTH SERIES.—No. XXXII. OCTOBER, 1877. THE MANORIAL PARTICULARS OF THE COUNTY OF GLAMORGAN. The county of Glamorgan was constituted by an Act of 27 Henry VIII, and, by that Act, was composed of the lordship of Glamorgan, which lay between the Rhymny and the Crumlyn brook; and the lordships of Cilvae and Gower, which extended it westward to the Llwchwr river. The words of the statute recognise the old dis¬ tinction between the shire fee, sometimes called "the County", or the " Body of the County", and the Mem¬ bers, and enact " That the lordships, townes, parishes, commotes, hundredes, and cantredes of Gower, Kilvey, Bishopstowne, Landaffe, Sighnith Supra, Singnith Sub- tus, Miskin, Ogmore, Glesnothney, Tallagam, Ruchien, Tallavan, Lanblethian, Lantwide, Tieriall, A van, Neth, Landway, and the Cleyes, in the said country of Wales, etc., etc., shall stand and be guildable for ever, etc., united, annexed, and joyned to and with the countie of Glamorgan, as a member, part, or parcel of the same". (27 Henry VIII, cap. 26.) Here the county to which the enumerated lordships are to be annexed is the old shire fee or body, and the lordships, etc., are the mem¬ bers. Of these, Senghenydd, Miscin, Glyn Rhondda, Ruthyn, Talavan, Llanblethian, Tir y Iarll, Avan, and Neath, were member-lordships. Ogmore, as held by the powerful lords of Cidwelly, and latterly by the Dukes 4th ser., vol. viii. 18