Welsh Journals

Search over 450 titles and 1.2 million pages

Honourable Society of Cymmrodorion FOR THE ENCOURAGEMENT OF Literature, Science, and Art as connected with Wales. FOUNDED 1751. ROYAL CHARTER, 1951. SIR WYNN P. WHELDON, K.B.E., D.S.O., M.A., LL.D. The Right Honourable THE EARL OF LISBURNE. The Right Honourable VISCOUNT KEMSLEY. The Right Honourable VISCOUNT TREDEGAR. The Right Honourable LORD ABERDARE, C.B.E., LL.D. The Right Honourable LORD HARLECH, K.G., G.C.M.G., D.C.L., LL.D., F.S.A. The Right Honourable LORD KENYON. The Right Honourable LORD LLEWELLIN, C.B.E. The Right Honourable LORD MACDONALD, K.C.M.G., LL.D. The Right Honourable LORD MOSTYN. The Most Rev. THE ARCHBISHOP OF CARDIFF, D.D., LL.D. The Most Rev. ARCHBISHOP DAVID MATHEW, M.A., LITT.D., F.S.A. The Right Rev. THE LORD BISHOP OF BANGOR, D.D. The Right Rev. THE LORD Bishop OF ST. DAVID'S, M.C., T.D., D.D. The Right Rev. THE Lord Bishop OF WORCESTER. The Right Rev. BISHOP D. I. EVANS, C.B.E. The Right Honourable CLEMENT DAVIES, Q.C., LL.D., M.P. The Right Honourable DAVID R. GRENFELL, C.B.E., M.P. The Right Honourable JAMES GRIFFITHS, LL.D., M.P. The Right Honourable LORD JUSTICE JENKINS. Major The Right Honourable GWILYM LLOYD- GEORGE, M.P. THE CHANCELLOR, UNIVERSITY OF WALES. THE VICE-CHANCELLOR, UNIVERSITY OF WALES. THE VICE-CHANCELLOR, UNIVERSITY OF YALE, U.S.A. Sir H. IDRIS BELL, C.B., O.B.E., D.LITT., LL.D., F.B.A. (Past President). Professor SIR DAVID BRUNT, SC.D., F.R.S. SIR WYNNE CEMLYN-JONES. LL. WYN GRIFFITH, O.B.E., D.LITT. (Chairman). SIR JOHN CECIL-WILLIAMS, M.A., LL.D. (Hon. Secretary). JENKIN A. DAVIES. SIR IFAN AB OWEN EDWARDS, M.A. professor J. GORONWY EDWARDS, M.A., D.LITT., F.B.A. D. L. EVANS, O.B.E., B.A., D.LITT. Miss JANET EVANS. Pofessor I. LL. FOSTER, M.A., F.S.A. (Editor). WILLIAM GRIFFITHS. EDWARD JAMES, F.J.I. Emeritus Professor R. T. JENKINS, C.B.E., M.A., D.LITT., LL.D., F.S.A. ALUN JONES. BEN G. JONES, LL.B. Major FRANCIS JONES M.A., T.D. F. WYNN JONES. Nonorary Auditors E. P. MORGAN, F.C.A., and JOHN R. MORGAN, A.C.A. Ponorary Serrctary: SIR JOHN CECIL-WILLIAMS, M.A., LL.D. FOR THE YEAR 1956 THE Patron: HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN. President Pice-Presidents The Honourable SIR ARTHIAN Davies. SIR DANIEL DAVIES, K.C.V.O., M.D., F.R.C.P. The Right Honourable SIR OwEN M. DixoN, G.C.M.G., P.C., M.A., LL.D. Colonel SIR ARTHUR EVANS. Principal SIR EMRYS EVANS, M.A., B.LITT., LL.D. SIR HORACE EVANS, G.C.V.O., M.D., F.R.C.P. The Honourable SIR HILDRETH GLYN-JONES, Q.c. SIR EVAN M. JENKINS, G.C.I.E., K.C.S.I. SIR WILLIAM JONES, C.B.E. Air Chief Marshal SIR HUGH P. LLOYD, G.B.E., K.C.B., M.C., D.F.C., LL.D. The Right Honourable LORD JUSTICE MORRIS, C.B.E., M.C., LL.D. SIR FREDERICK ROWLAND, BT., F.C.A. SIR ALUN ROWLANDS, K.B.E., M.D., F.R.C.P. SIR IFOR WILLIAMS, D.LITT, LL.D., F.B.A. The Honourable JOSEPH E. DAVIES, LL.D., PH.D. D.LITT., D.SC. (Washington, U.S.A.). Miss MARGARET DAVIES, LL.D. His Honour JUDGE ERNEST EVANS, Q.C. His Honour JUDGE FRED M. EVANS, B.A., LL.B. (U.S.A.). L. N. VINCENT EVANS, C.B. R. CHARLES EVANS, D.SC., F.R.C.S. AUGUSTUS JOHN, O.M., R.A., LL.D. HOWELL E. JAMES, C.B.E. G. CLEATON JONES (Cape Town, South Africa). DAVID JONES, C.B.E., D.LITT. Wing Commander LLEWELYN JONES, M.A., LL.M. (Melbourne, Australia) H. V. LLOYD-JONES, Q.C., M.A. Rev. CANON MAURICE JONES, D.D. SIR RHYS HOPKIN MORRIS, Q.C., LL.D., M.P. Mrs. D. RHYS-ROBERTS. Brigadier SIR ERIC SKAIFE, C.B., O.B.E., D.L. W. JENKYN THOMAS, M.A. G. EMLYN WILLIAMS, M.A. J. IORWERTH WILLIAMS, M.A., LL.B. Council W. IDRIS JONES, C.B.E., PH.D. E. O. LEWIS, M.A., D.SC., M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P. Professor HYWEL D. LEWIS, M.A., B.LITT. A. B. OLDFIELD-DAVIES, C.B.E., M.A. SAUNDERS LEWIS M.A. LADY HOPKIN MORRIS, O.B.E., M.A., LITT.D. Rev. D. S. OWEN, B.A. LEONARD OWEN, C.I.E., M.A. (Hon. Treasurer). Professor Sir DAVID HUGHES PARRY, M.A., LL.D., D.C.L. THOMAS PARRY, M.A., D.LITT. EMRYS O. ROBRRTS, M.B.E., M.A., LL.B. A. ROCYN-JONES, M.B., B.S., F.R.C.S. Emeritus Professor T. H. PARRY-WILLIAMS, M.A., PH.D., D.LITT. Sir BEN BOWEN THOMAS, M.A. Huw P. WHELDON, O.B.E., M.C., B.SC. Editor Professor I. LL. FOSTER, M.A., F.S.A., Jesus College, Oxford. Nonorary Treasurer: LEONARD OWEN, C.I.E., M.A.