Welsh Journals

Search over 450 titles and 1.2 million pages

honourable Society of Cpmmroborion FOR THE ENCOURAGEMENT OF Literature, Science, and Art as connected with Wales. SIR WYNN P. WHELDON, K.B.E., D.S.O., M.A., LL.D. The Right Honourable THE EARL OF LISBURNE. The Right Honourable VISCOUNT CAMROSE. The Right Honourable Viscount KEMSLEY. The Right Honourable VISCOUNT SIMON, G.C.V.O., G.C.S.I., D.C.L., LL.D. The Right Honourable VISCOUNT TREDEGAR. The Right Honourable LORD ABERDARE, C.B.E., LL.D. The Right Honourable LORD CLWYD (Past Presi- dent). The Right Honourable LORD DYNEVOR. The Right Honourable LORD HARLECH, K.G., G.C.M.G., D.C.L., LL.D., F.S.A. The Right Honourable LORD KENYON. The Right Honourable LORD LLEWELLIN, C.B.E. The Right Honourable LORD MACDONALD, K.C.M.G., LL.D. The Right Honourable LORD MOSTYN. The Most Rev. THE ARCHBISHOP OF CARDIFF, D.D., LL.D. The Most Rev. ARCHBISHOP DAVID MATHEW, M.A., LITT.D., F.S.A. The Right Rev. THE LORD BISHOP OF BANGOR, D.D. The Right Rev. THE LORD BISHOP OF ST. David's, M.C., T.D., D.D. The Right Rev. THE LORD BISHOP OF SWANSEA AND BRECON, D.D. The Right Rev. BISHOP D. I. EVANS, C.B.E. The Right Honourable CLEMENT DAVIES, Q.c., M.P. The Right Honourable DAVID R. GRENFELL, C.B.E., M.P. The Right Honourable JAMES GRIFFITHS, LL.D., M.P. Major The Right Honourable Gwilym LLOYD- GEORGE, M.P. THE CHANCELLOR, UNIVERSITY OF WALES. THE VICE-CHANCELLOR, UNIVERSITY OF WALES. THE VICE-CHANCELLOR, UNIVERSITY OF YALE, U.S.A. Sir H. IDRIS BELL, C.B., O.B.E., D.LITT., LL.D., F.B.A. (Past President). LL. Wyn GRIFFITH, O.B.E., D.LITT. (Chairman). SIR JOHN CECIL-WILLIAMS, M.A., LL.D. (Hon. Secretary). JENKIN A. DAVIES. SIR IFAN AB OWEN EDWARDS, M.A. Professor J. GORONWY EDWARDS, M.A., D.LITT., F.B.A. D. L. EVANS, O.B.E., B.LITT. Miss JANET EVANS. Professor I. LL. FOSTER, M.A., F.S.A. (Hon. Editor). WILLIAM GRIFFITHS. EDWARD JAMES, F.J.I. HOWELL E. JAMES, C.B.E. Emeritus Professor R. T. JENKINS, M.A., D.LITT., F.S.A. ALUN JONES. BEN G. JONES, LL.B. Major FRANCIS JONES, T.D. Conorary Auditors: M. E. P. MORGAN, F.C.A., and F. WYNN JONES. Conorary Secretary: SIR JOHN CECIL-WILLIAMS, M.A., LL.D. FOR THE YEAR 1954 THE FOUNDED 1751. Datron: HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN. President: Vice-Presidents: Professor SIR DAVID BRUNT, SC.D., F.R.S. SIR WYNNE CEMLYN-JONES. The Honourable SIR ARTHIAN DAVIES. Sir DANIEL DAVIES, K.C.V.O., M.D., F.R.C.P. Colonel SIR ARTHUR EVANS. Principal SIR EMRYS EVANS, M.A., B.LITT. SIR HORACE EVANS, K.C.V.O., M.D., F.R.C.P. The Honourable SIR HILDRETH GLYN-JONES. SIR EVAN M. JENKINS, G.C.I.E., K.C.S.I. SIR WILLIAM JONES, C.B.E. Air Chief Marshal SIR HUGH P. LLOYD, G.B.E., K.C.B., M.C., D.F.C., LL.D. The Right Honourable LORD JUSTICE MORRIS, C.B.E., M.C., LL.D. SIR GEORGE FOSSETT ROBERTS, C.B., O.B.E., T.D. SIR FREDERICK ROWLAND, BT., F.C.A. SIR ALUN ROWLANDS, K.B.E., M.D., F.R.C.P. SIR PERCY THOMAS, O.B.E., LL.D., F.R.I.B.A. SIR IFOR WILLIAMS, D.LITT, LL.D., F.B.A. The Honourable JOSEPH E. DAVIES, LL.D., PH.D., D.LITT., n.sc. (Washington, u.s.A.). Miss MARGARET DAVIES, LL.D. His Honour JUDGE ERNEST EVANS, Q.C. L. N. VINCENT EVANS, C.B. Professor W. J. GRUFFYDD, M.A., D.LITT. E. MORGAN HUMPHREYS, O.B.E., M.A. AUGUSTUS JOHN, O.M., R.A., LL.D. G. CLEATON JONES (Cape Town, South Africa). JOHN CHARLES JONES, A.M.I.E.E. Wing Commander LLEWELYN JONES, M.A., LL.M. (Melbourne, Australia) Rev. CANON MAURICE JONES, D.D. THOMAS JONES, C.H., LL.D., M.A. R. HOPKIN MORRIS, Q.C., M.P. Mrs. D. RHYS-ROBERTS. ROBERT RICHARDS, M.A., F.S.A., M.P. Brigadier E. O. SKAIFE, C.B., O.B.E., D.L. T. D. SLINGSBY-JENKINS, J.P. D. ROWLAND THOMAS, Q.C. J. IORWERTH WILLIAMS, M.A., LL.B. Council: W. IDRIS JONES, C.B.E., PH.D. E. O. LEWIS, M.A., D.SC., M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P. H. V. LLOYD-JONES, M.A., Q.C. A. B. OLDFIELD-DAVIES, M.A. Rev. D. S. OWEN, B.A. LEONARD OWEN, C.I.E., M.A. (Hon. Trcasurer). Professor SIR DAVID HUGHES PARRY, M.A., LL.M., LL.D. THOMAS PARRY, M.A., D.LITT. EMRYS O. ROBERTS, M.B.E., M.A., LL.B. A. ROCYN-JONES, M.B., B.S., F.R.C.S. Emeritus Professor T. H. PARRY-WILLIAMS, M.A., PH.D., D.LITT. Sir BEN BOWEN THOMAS, M.A. W. JENKYN THOMAS, M.A. Huw P. WHELDON, O.B.E., M.C., B.SC. Professor GWYN WILLIAMS, D.SC., PH.D. Conorary Cditor: Professor I. LL. FOSTER, M.A., F.S.A., Jesus College, Oxford. Conorary Drcasurer: LEONARD OWEN, C.I.E., M.A.