President: RICHARD HANBURY TENISON Chairman: BETTY SAGE Secretary: JENNY RENDER 8 Pentonville, Newport, Gwent Editor: MRS. ANNA TUCKER 'Hadlow', Llanwenarth Citra, Abergavenny, Gwent NP7 7EY GWENT LOCAL HISTORY Formerly "Presenting Monmouthshire" No. 67 Autumn 1989 EDITORIAL Sadly, Abergavenny Local History Society has lost two of its most active members. Freda Key who was the long-standing Treasurer of the Society died in March. Beryl Pullan, who was the driving force behind the Society's Abergavenny Town Centre Survey, which won the Gwent Local History Council's award in 1987, died in July. The medals which were awarded annually by the Gwent Local History Council for recent significant and permanent achievement in the study of local history in Gwent have now all been presented. The Council is now seeking sponsorship for awards in the future. Congratulations are in order to Martin Buckridge who, since 1986, has been Curator of Abergavenny Museum. He now takes over as Director of Torfaen Museum Service in place of Adrian Babbidge. The A.G.M. will be held on Saturday, 11th November and will be hosted by the Newport Society. Topically, the theme of the day will be Chartism. All are welcome.